Week 1 Start/Sit Questions

Analysis of Fantasy Football Lineup Decisions

Start/Sit Questions: Week 1

By: Mike Johnson (@mjohnson86)

Some things in fantasy football are easy. We know we should start Tyreek Hill and Breece Hall. We know we should bench the backup running back who is only on our roster in case of injury. A lot of the decisions are made for us. However, there are a lot of things that are not so simple. All of the “in between” situations are what can make the difference between a few wins and losses, and therefore it can be the difference between a successful season or a failed season. Every Friday, we are here to help!!

I’ll take questions each week in our #fantasy-football channel in our Discord from people looking for Start/Sit advice and give my thoughts. This article on Fridays will feature a few of those questions and responses, join our Discord to join the conversation or ask questions of your own!!

Question 1:: In a 12 team league, full PPR – of these six guys, I need to start four:: Nabers, JSN, Deebo, Zay Flowers, Jayden Reed, Jerry Jeudy. And in a second, 12 team, full PPR league, I can start four of these six WRs; Tyreek Hill, Zay Flowers, Nabers, Nico Collins, JSN, Diggs. (JohnnyApple24)

Answer:: For the first league, my four would be Nabers, Deebo, Reed, and Flowers. Nabers and Deebo are studs and locks, in my opinion. Flowers is the WR1 in another game between two elite offenses. I’d roll with the upside of Reed in a potentially high-scoring game over JSN or Jeudy, who are secondary receivers for their teams in worse game environments.

For the second league – Tyreek, Nabers and Nico are locks until further notice. I’d roll with Diggs over Flowers in that one, which gives you some floor and ceiling by playing both Texans WRs.

Question 2:: Hey @mjohnson86, in my 16-team PPR league I need help deciding on a wide receiver. Options are Tee Higgins, Calvin Ridley, or Chris Godwin, who all look good this week. Who should I start? (Daveman215)

Answer:: I would go with Chris Godwin this week. Ridley is facing the Bears, who have very good corners. If Ja’Marr Chase misses the game, Higgins will become the “alpha” WR but will also draw a ton of defensive attention. If Chase plays, Higgins will be second fiddle in a game where the Bengals may not have to be very aggressive. Godwin, meanwhile, faces a very poor secondary and is in a new, highly anticipated role this year.

Question 3:: Flex spot: Diontae vs Conner (PPR) (PSUBALTFAN)

Answer:: As long as Conner stays healthy this season, I expect him to be a top-12-to-top-15 RB on a weekly basis. The Bills’ defense is likely to take a step back this season and the Panthers’ offense still has a lot to prove. This one is Conner for me, pretty easily. 

Question 4:: Need one Flex (0.5 PPR scoring): Zay Flowers, Jerome Ford, or Zack Moss (shakey34)

Answer:: I like Ford the most this week. The Dallas defense was gashed on the ground last year and the Browns may try to limit what they ask of Deshaun Watson this week. Ford should be a borderline workhorse as long as Nick Chubb is out and in the 0.5 PPR scoring I like that volume over the “flash” of Flowers.

Question 5:: (PPR) Need two out of Curtis Samuel, Deebo Samuel, Garrett Wilson, Jaylen Waddle, and Calvin Ridley……and Jake Ferguson OR David Njoku? (wscooby)

Answer:: For the receivers, I would start Wilson and Waddle. We’ve been hearing for over a year now that Wilson has an insane connection with Aaron Rodgers and I wouldn’t have him on the bench to start the year. Curtis Samuel and Ridley are definitely “out” for me, so it comes down to Deebo vs. Waddle. I think the Dolphins could have the top offense in the league this year, while Deebo faces a tough Jets defense. I’d roll Waddle this week.

For the tight end, I’d go with Ferguson as the clear second option, and he may see some extra work as CeeDee Lamb gets his legs under him after his “hold-in”. The Cowboys are likely going to struggle to run the ball in this one, so I think Ferguson gets 8-to-10 targets.